Study suggests that positive body image predicts health

The medical community has been linking Body Mass Index (BMI) to health for quite some time. However, a new study out of Columbia University provides a different answer: Body Image. In particular, those who want to lose weight are more likely to be mentally or physically unhealthy than those who are happy with their body image. Being discontented with your body weight was more of a predictor of being unhealthy than BMI.

So what we’ve been saying on Kiss My Assets is true– We need to focus more on being happy with our body today if we want to be healthy for tomorrow! Read more about it on Psych Central!

One Response

  1. It’s so true. I was much happier after I lost weight, but not because I was skinny.. but because I was more comfortable with myself and wasn’t as worried about losing more weight. But I’m sure plenty of women can come to be comfortable with themselves without having to lose weight first. I’m still overweight, but it doesn’t bother me nearly as much as it used to.

Leave a Reply

